On a recent visit to the Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens with the ai of bird watching which was somewhat of a failure as the birds, due to the heatwave, hid deep within the trees.  However, the gardens offer many a theme so the camera will never be bored.  I saw this young tortoise some distance away and walked over to it.  It was the most friendly tortoise I have ever encountered.  When it noticed me coming towards it, it changed direction and came towards me.  When I changed direction it would do the same.  I was allowed to scratch its head which it seemed to have liked.  Eventually I picked it up and placed it next to a flower bed and disappeared from its back (blind side) and it merrily disappeared amongst the flowers.

The friendly tortoise

Tortie

Have a great new week.

